About us

The HDZ is jointly managed by the nine state universities, each of which has its own educational development unit. These units work in close cooperation with the central coordinating office of the HDZ. The HDZ is directed by the general assembly of members, which is made up of the pro-rectors of the universities. The general assembly elects the management board, which in turn represents the HDZ in public.



Working together both conceptually and operationally creates a unique cooperation of nine universities with individual profiles, making it possible to offer specific, high quality courses. The cooperation within the network as well as with national and international institutions facilitates the mobility of scientific personnel as well as interdisciplinary exchange between participating teachers.

The local educational development units for teaching and learning are based in

  • Freiburg
  • Heidelberg
  • Hohenheim
  • Karlsruhe
  • Konstanz
  • Mannheim
  • Stuttgart
  • Tübingen
  • Ulm

Since March 2015, the HDZ has been accredited by the accreditation committee of the German Association for Educational and Academic Staff Development in Higher Education (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Hochschuldidaktik, dghd) for meeting the required professional standards.

While ensuring quality and fundamental contents at each educational development unit, the HDZ also allows room for individual design and areas of focus.

The audit group stated in its final report: "The highly positive findings in the self-evaluation report and the feedback from all parties during the audit substantiate the quality of this form of cooperation, which has not only taken on a model role for higher education didactics in Germany but also offers a platform for further development. The Baden‐Württemberg Certificate does not only meet national standards but can also compete with leading international academic development networks".